About the United Arab Emirates

The UAE is a federation of seven states formed in 1971 by the former Trucial States after the end of the British Protectorate. The seven Emirates are Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Ajman, Fujairah, Ras al Khaimah, Sharjah and Umm al Qaiwai.

The Supreme Council of Rulers has the power to decide policy, elect the federal president and his deputy, admit new members to the federation, and appoint and dismiss the prime minister and the judges of the Federal Supreme Court. It also ratifies federal laws, although the President can amend them. The council meets formally once a year.

HH Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan is the ruler of Abu Dhabi and was elected President by the UAE Federal Council shortly after the death of his father, HH Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, in November 2004.

Four Courts, Dublin

Contact Details

Embassy of Ireland
2 Khalifa Al Suwaidi Development
Road 19 off 32nd Street
Al Bateen
P.O. Box 61581
Abu Dhabi
United Arab Emirates
Ph: +971 (0)2 4958200
Fax: +971 (0)2 6819233
Embassy Ramadam
Public Office Hours:
Sun-Thu 09:30 – 13:00 or otherwise by appointment